Ford Capri Sketchin’

I had lots of fun working on this personal project recently. My Brother-in-law is a Ford Capri fan (he is currently in the process of restoring one) so my Sister thought it would be nice to create a unique gift for him for Father’s Day.

capri_1__carmenjohnson

It was great to draw something a bit different, and also something with a more masculine edge. I sourced a few images and really got into the retro seventies styling and all the different bold colours of that era. I decided to draw just the MK 1 Capri since this is the model my Brother-in-law likes the most, and also the model of the Capri he is restoring.

ford_capri_carmenjohnson

The process was the same as usual. Since the illustration was to be printed on to a mug, it took a little time jigging around the different illustrative elements to create a strong design. I wasn’t entirely sure if the design i’d created would work on the wrap-around as I wouldn’t see the product until it was finished, but I was really pleased with the result.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I decided to use Vista Print for the printing as the print quality is often good, and there were the added options of having coloured handles and interior which really added to the overall look of the design. It was a total fluke that the lime green I used in the design matched with the colour option offered by Vista Print.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

And most importantly my Brother-in-law was very happy with his gift. Now he just needs to work on getting that motor on the road. Perhaps being fuelled by several good cups of tea will help!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

