Live Illustration for e.l.f. cosmetics

I was recently commissioned to do some live portraits for the UK launch party of e.l.f. cosmetics at 19 Greek Street in Soho. e.l.f. is a U.S brand due to launch in Superdrug stores this June, and being a lover of make-up I was quite excited to be part of the launch.

IMG_4878

It was a busy night and the place was buzzing with activity. There were opportunities to try the make-up and receive tutorials, along with having a live portrait created by my good self.

IMG_4846

My first task of the evening was to create a portrait of the Artistic Director of e.l.f., Achelle Richards. The canvas I was asked to work on was a little larger than i’m used to and due to the gloss surface was a little tricky to work with as my pens didn’t seem to want to dry, but in spite of the ‘technical difficulties’ I was happy with the final result!

IMG_4872

I was also fortunate enough to be joined by the incredibly talented Miss Led, who was also live illustrating for the event. We were both hard at it all evening with people queuing around the room to get their portraits.

It was great fun and a great experience. We were encouraged to experiment with some of the make-up and to incorporate it into the illustrations. The make-up was very versatile so I found myself being able to match colours with relative ease.

And the best part of the evening for me was going away with a goodie bag of e.l.f. products. I have been having lots of fun using them, not only are they good quality and affordable, e.l.f. are also a cruelty-free brand. So it’s a double thumbs up from me!

 

Leave a Reply

