Sandals + Socks

socksandsandals_carmenjohnson

I went to a very interesting and informing Studio Sessions, hosted by Emma BlockKarolyn Schnoor and Lilly Taylor at the weekend.

The Studio Sessions are run by Emma Block and Stacie Swift, both successful illustrators working in the industry. They offer insights in creating a creative business, most specifically the business of illustration. Stacie was unable to attend on this occasion as she unfortunately was unwell but Emma found some great people to step-in.

I often feel like I need to have a good variety of subjects in my illustration repertoire, but there are always a few things I continually gravitate towards, mainly food (not just in my art, I LOVE eating!), and also beauty and fashion.

Emma and Karolyn both touched on how you should draw what you really enjoy and are passionate about, so feeling free to do that my mind went to work thinking about all the images I could create.

I’d seen a few fashion posts of late that were talking about mid-season dressing, that difficult time when it’s too warm for a coat but too cold for no outwear at all. And socks and sandals seem to be a bit of a ‘thing’ for SS15. I myself have not tried this trend yet. Living in London I find I very rarely wear heels, as much as I would like to. It just ain’t practical when you’re running for a bus!

But I guess that’s the great thing about creating an illustration. I can still be part of the action, even if i’m not exactly partaking! And I also get to be a fashion designer. I can create shoes, garments and accessories that are an amalgamation of all the things I love.

Leave a Reply

